Audi in the DTM

Audi in the DTM - A long success story

Audi made its debut in the DTM, which was founded in 1984, in 1990. As early as the seventh race of the season Hans-Joachim Stuck celebrated the first victory for the brand with the four rings in the Audi V8 quattro. At the end of the season Stuck was credited with seven wins and the championship title – the beginning of a success story that continues to this day.

Only a year later Audi became the first brand in DTM history to make a successful title defense; Frank Biela was crowned Champion after recording six wins during the season. The following year, Audi nevertheless withdrew from the DTM which was subsequently cancelled in 1996.

When the series returned in the year 2000 the private Abt team fielded an independently built Abt-Audi TT-R. Laurent Aiello beat the Mercedes and Opel works teams for the first time at the Nürburgring in 2001. In 2002 Abt and Aiello crowned their partnership with four wins and first place in the driver classification.

Audi returned as official factory team to the DTM in 2004 with the new A4 DTM and won the title in its premiere year with Mattias Ekström. A trick the Swede repeated in 2007. Timo Scheider sealed the first hat-trick for a manufacturer in the DTM by taking the championship titles in 2008 and 2009.

The preliminary end to this success story is title number eight which Martin Tomczyk clinched in 2011. Audi has celebrated a total of 61 race wins in the DTM. An Audi driver put their car on the pole position 64 times and set the fastest lap in 53 races.